BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
smw10
Fluorite | Level 6

I hope you are all having a good day. I am currently studying for my Base SAS Certification and I have two questions. My first question deals with concatenation. Why does the code below give a value of "FA" for job category rather than "FA1"?

data jobcat;
jobcategory="FA";
joblevel="1";
jobcategory=jobcategory||joblevel;
run;

For the code below, why do we need "else input"? What exactly is this saying?

Name $ 1-14 / Address $ 1-14 / City $ 1-12;
if City='New York ' then input @1 State $2.;
else input;
datalines;
Joe Conley
123 Main St.
Janesville
WI
Jane Ngyuen
555 Alpha Ave.
New York
NY
Jennifer Jason
666 Mt. Diablo
Eureka
CA
;
run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

The data always has a record for state. The code is written so that it only gets the state if city='New York'.

However, when city isn't 'New York' you would end up reading that record set's state as the next set's name variable and every other set will input the wrong information for each field.

Thus, the record that contains state has to be input, regardless of whether it inputs state or not.

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
ballardw
Super User

Examine the characteristics of the the variable jobcategory (proc contents, column view of data set or any of the other possibilities).

You "assigned" a length of 2 characters with the initial assignment of a value. So there isn't a place to add another character onto the end of the same value.

Consider:

data work.jobcat;
   jobcategory="FA";
   joblevel="1";
   jobcategory2=jobcategory||joblevel;
run;