BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DJWanna
Obsidian | Level 7
We are having a bit of a debate here ... I am an old time SAS programmer who was told that it is better to semicolon after a macro call ... %macroname; There is another thought that one must never semicolon ... %macroname.

My thinking is that if there were unbalanced semicolons at least this one would make sure that the macro would run. However, there is a note in a course note publication that states the opposite. I know there are times when if a macro call was in the middle of other code it may not be appropriate. I am just wondering about the call itself as stand alone code.

Your thoughts?
Thanks!
5 REPLIES 5
Flip
Fluorite | Level 6
After 25 years, I almost always put in the semicolon. I have known programmers who put a semicolon in empty lines as spacers. In most cases it will not hurt, and helps locate things in debugging.

I also insist on hard returns and RUN; statements which I often see left out of code.
Peter_C
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
another old $0.02
sometimes the statement needs to be completed with a semicolon after the macro is called.
The macros which generate steps, usually, finish by generating a semicolon on a "run;" Those which generate only statements usually deliver statements completed by a semicolon. These macro invocations should not need a trailing semicolon.
I use a lot of "sub-statement" macros. They are really useful when a string or value needs to be retrieved. These "sub-statement macros" generate no semicolon so that they can be used, for example, in a calculation. It is normally important that these sub-statement macros are not immediately followed by a semicolon.
For example:
%put the message at %now() needs action ;

The semicolon ends the statement, not the macro invocation.

PeterC
Flip
Fluorite | Level 6