BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

All, 
     I have a folder of macros. I am adding these macros to my SASAUTOS as demonstrated in sample note (http://support.sas.com/kb/42/360.html) . 

If I rerun my code, more than once, this results in an error as the same filename is being repeatedly added. So, I would like to add a check point in my code to test if a particular filename exists in my SASAUTOS , skip over to next line, else add it. Can somebody advice on how I could achieve this ? 

Below is what I have in mind, but I am new to SAS and dont know how to achieve this. 

filename MacroDir <customfolder>;

if <MacroDir in SASAUTOS> Then 
   Options append = Sasautos = (MacroDir); /* Reference sample 42360 */
Else 
   Put 'Filename already in SASAutos'; 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@UdayGuntupalli

You normally would define and add to your SASAUTOS in the SAS config or autoexec which gets only executed once during SAS invocation. 

If you just want to have something in your code then yes, you need to check. The "challenge" is that the OPTIONS statement is a Global statement and you can't use it within a SAS Data step and though not conditionally in an IF statement. That means you need SAS macro language which is a bit much for a newbie.

Below code should work for you. The code doesn't handle all possible use cases but it should be sufficient for what you're asking for.

%macro add_to_sasautos(newlib);
  data _null_;
    if find(getoption('sasautos'),"&newlib",'i')>0 then 
      do;
        putlog "&newlib already in SASAUTOS";
        call symputx('add_newlib','N','L');
      end;
    else
      do;
        call symputx('add_newlib','Y','L');
      end;
  run;

%if &add_newlib=Y %then
    %do;
      options append=sasautos=(&newlib);
    %end;

%mend;

filename mymacs2 'c:\temp';
%add_to_sasautos(mymacs2)