BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I inherited some SAS scripts written by a non-programmer. I am new to SAS and need to make a change. Here is a simple piece of code that 'should' choose a SQL statement based on the predefined variable - ttest:

proc sql;
if ttype = 'I' then
do;
create view datavalv as
select T.data_validity_code,
R.sak_feeding_test_res
from TIMD.feeding_test_results T
left join TIMD.feeding_test_remarks R on
(T.sak_feeding_test_res = R.sak_feeding_test_res)
where T.test_num = &test;
end;
else
do;
create view datavalv as
select data_validity_code,
sak_outside_feed_res as sak_feeding_test_res
from TIMD.outside_feeding_results
where outside_feeding_results.test_num = &test;
end;
quit;

here is a snippet of the error reported:

709 (T.sak_feeding_test_res = R.sak_feeding_test_res)
710 where T.test_num = &test;
NOTE: SQL view WORK.DATAVALV has been defined.
711 end;
---
ERROR 180-322: Statement is not valid or it is used out of proper order.

712 else
----
ERROR 180-322: Statement is not valid or it is used out of proper order.

713 do;

Should be simple, but I am having no success.
5 REPLIES 5
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Two questions:
1) Was the code working before you inherited it? Did it ever successfully generate output? Or is this pseudo-code that conceptually shows the type of conditional processing that should take place?

2) Did you remove any % or & punctuation from the code or any %macro or %mend statements?

cynthia
deleted_user
Not applicable
Sorry, I was not clear. I added the if/else structure. I have to make this script generic so it will run internal or external test (they have different tables and columns).
Here is the original 'Proc sql':
proc sql;
create view datavalv as
select data_validity_code, feeding_test_remarks.sak_feeding_test_res
from tims.feeding_test_results left join tims.feeding_test_remarks
on feeding_test_results.sak_feeding_test_res = feeding_test_remarks.sak_feeding_test_res