BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jeanderson
Fluorite | Level 6

In a data step (Base SAS 9.4), I am trying to parse my good data from my bad data. One condition of good data is that var4 contains a string that starts with H then is followed by 4 integers and a comma. Other text may be before or after this 6-character string.

Examples:

Good data: H2009, V7WK48

Bad data: HV2030, V5WK24

Code I thought would work:

data test2 wonkydata;
set test;

if find(var4,'%H____,%')=0 then output wonkydata; /*Remove data in wrong format for extracting ID*/

run;

However, both good and bad data are being output to wonkydata.

This is my first time posting a question here, so if I need to provide more info please let me know. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
error_prone
Barite | Level 11

Regular expressions aren't that difficult, if you can bend your mind in some or another way 😉

data want;
	set have;

isGood = prxmatch('/.*H\d{4,4},.*/', trim(var4));
run;
  • Expressions start and end with slash.
  • .* matches any char, 0 to n-times
  • \d matches a digit, {4,4} matches four digits
  • , the comma after the digit

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

best approach is use regular expressions (PRX) pattern functions than find for your case. PRX syntax hurts my eyes/sinuses but I am sure somebody else will help you shortly with the syntax. Hang in there!

Reeza
Super User

% isn't a wildcard in the FIND statement, that works in SQL or WHERE statements. 

Your best bet is PRX or a regular expression but I find those difficult. 

I usually use CHAR() instead with a loop and like in this question:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/48469465/check-specific-sequence-of-alphanumeric-string-in-sas/4...

@jeanderson wrote: