BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
WFC2013
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi ,

I am new to SAS Programing . Below is my code trying to use SET command in New data set , but when I run the code it reads only one record from the New data set . When I combine the code from two dataset it works. But I need it to be done in two separate Dataset.

Code :

DATA DATE_CHK;                           
LENGTH TEMP_DATE 8 CURRENT_DAY 3;         
END_DATE = TODAY();                      
CURRENT_DAY = DAY(TODAY());              
TEMP_DATE=INTNX('MONTH',END_DATE,-3);    
START_DATE=TEMP_DATE + CURRENT_DAY - 1 ; 
RUN; 

data g1;
Set date_chk ;
input age;
datalines;
;
run;

OutPut:( It is missing 234 and  14 in AGE)

Obs TEMP_DATE  CURRENT_DAY  END_DATE   START_DATE   age

Please suggest.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Here's the culprit:

merge date_chk ;

Change it to this:

if _n_=1 then set date_chk ;

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
Astounding
PROC Star

Here's the culprit:

merge date_chk ;

Change it to this:

if _n_=1 then set date_chk ;

WFC2013
Fluorite | Level 6
Sorry my bad i have used SET DATE_CHK not merge date_chk . But still it is reading only one record.

Will try code if _n_=1 then set date_chk .
Reeza
Super User

@WFC2013 Are you trying to add records to the end of a data set then?

WFC2013
Fluorite | Level 6
Thanks a lot , It is working. But what does _n_ =1 did can you explain pls.
Astounding
PROC Star

As you have seen from @Tom's explanation, this is not the simplest concept in the world.  I will try to explain, but you may need to search the documentation for some examples.

The DATA step executes by leaving the DATA statement, and executing the remaining statements in the data step.  It actually does this as many times as needed, until the incoming data sources run out of observations.