BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
NK15
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am new to SAS programming, I have created a macro function which contains a DO loop and an IF THEN  statement, I am looking to save a calculated value between iterations to be used in the next loop, I am wondering if you may know a method to perform this operation. Only the first iteration of my code produces a value, subsquent iterations do not produse values, and when I print the macro save with %put &save the result is diff. I have bolded the code that is providing me with issues.

The input format of  Notif_date and InstallDate is ddmmyyyy , where as the output of diff is in days.

Thank you for the help in advance.

Please see my code below:

%macro DiffCalc();
%do id = 1 %to 1 /*&count*/;
      proc sort data= work.temp&id;
             by Notif_Date;
       run;

proc sql;
            select count(unit) into : num from work.temp&id;
      run;
      quit;

data work.temp&id;
            set work.temp&id;
            by Note;
            retain H;
            if first.Note then H= sum(H,1);
      run;

do H=1 to #
      data work.temp&id;
            set work.temp&id;
                  if H=1 then do;
                        diff= Notif_date-InstallDate;
                        %let save = diff;
                        end;
                  else do;
                        diff = (Notif_date-InstallDate)- &save;
                        %let save = diff;
                  end;
                run;
         end;

%end;
  %mend;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
NK15
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you for the response Tom,

2) I created and attempted to use the count created within the secondary DO loop and did not delete it (sorry)