BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
xavpontes
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to sas macro. If you know of a good book or resource to help me speed up my knowledge please share.

I am trying to download a mainframe file into MS Access to this address C:\2016\Access as a sas data set called

tgcont.  Please review my program and make any corrections.  Thank you.

/* Program Name MACRO_LOAD_TGCONT */

%MACRO LOAD_TGCONT();

DATA TGCONT;

INFILE TGCONT MISSOVER;

INPUT @01   SSN $CHAR9.

;  

RUN;

PROC SORT DATA=TGCONT OUT=CONTROL.TGCONT NODUPKEY;

BY

SSN                 

;

RUN;

%MEND;

6 REPLIES 6
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Since you do not use macro logic, the macro is not necessary at all.

If you encounter problems, post the log, including the filename and libname declarations for fileref TGCONT and library CONTROL, respectively.

xavpontes
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you for your reply. You said macro isn't necessary. Please share your solution. Thanks.

Astounding
PROC Star

Just for us to have anything to look at, you would have to remove two lines from the program (the lines that begin with %MACRO and %MEND).  Then run what you have and see what you get.

It would be helpful to see the DD statements that define TGCONT and CONTROL.  Or if there are no DD statements, the SAS statements that define them.

It would also be helpful to know what SAS software you have that would let a mainframe write to a PC.  The two would not normally be connected without additional software.

Eventually you may need a macro to make the program more flexible.  Right now, you just need a working program without any macro language.

xavpontes
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you for your reply.  Even without the %macro and %mend, I don't see this code working. From your answer,

I could ftp the mainframe file to the PC as a text file. And how would I write it to a folder as sas data set? Thanks. 

Astounding
PROC Star