BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Ramakrishnan
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I am totally new to SAS and i love to practice SAS. Since i have just started using sas i ran a small program.

Program

OPTIONS ERRORS=0 NOCENTER MISSING=' ';    
DATA RAM;                                 
  INFILE IN1;                             
  INFORMAT S_DATE YYMMDD6.;               

INPUT @1 name $CHAR9.                   
        @396 S_DATE YYMMDD6.;             

FORMAT S_DATE DATE9.;                   

PROC PRINT;                             
  RUN;                                   

After running this i got the result but the output came in such a way date was printed as the first colummn and Name was printed as the second colum.

Can anyone suggest why? how can i get Name first and date as the second column in the out put.

Thanks in Advance,

Krish.

4 REPLIES 4
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Your date column S_DATE is first because it is in the INFORMAT statement before your INPUT statement. You don't actually need an INFORMAT statement as you supply the same information on your INPUT statement.

If you remove your INFORMAT statement NAME will  now come first. 

FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Welcome to the community, @Ramakrishnan!

The reason for the date being printed first is that variable S_DATE is the first variable mentioned in your program: in the INFORMAT statement. As a consequence, when the SAS compiler builds the structure of dataset WORK.RAM, it puts S_DATE at the first position in the so called program data vector (an internal area of memory).

Given this information, you already see various ways to change the order of the two variables:

For example, you could move the INFORMAT statement after the INPUT statement (so that the SAS compiler will first come across NAME as it processes your code). As a declarative statement it will still have its intended impact on the INPUT statement.