BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SuppersReady
Calcite | Level 5
I'm new to SAS and have a problem that I would solve using SQL cursors in other languages but can't find any reference to them in SAS. Does SAS have a similar concept or can anyone recommend another technique to solve the following.

I have 2 datasets; the first containing a number of customer-related variables including UK postcode and the second containing a list of postcode changes (the UK post office does change geographical post codes from time to time). The postcode on the customer file is that recorded when the customer first registered. This could, subsequently, have changed and we need to run some analysis on current postcodes.

The second file contains 3 variables; old post code, new post code and date of change. It's possible for a postcode to change multiple times so postcode A could become postcode B, which could then later change to postcode C. In such a case we'd want to record the current postcode of any customer originally registered at postcode A as being postcode C.

I'd like to be able to take each record on the customer file in turn and walk the postcode changes file to be able to track the chain of changes made for that customer's postcode.

The only way of doing this that I've found so far is to have a series of iterative joins but there has to be a more efficient way of doing this.

Thanks, in advance, for any suggestions.
4 REPLIES 4
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi SuppersReady,

Based on the work presented in SUGI paper 232-31, "Crafting your own index" (http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/sugi31/232-31.pdf), the following approach may work:

/*Let's create some dummy data:*/
/*1. Postcode changes */
data pc_chgs;
input dt_chg date7. pc $ pc_new $;
format dt_chg date.;
cards;
01Jan08 A11AA A11AB
01Jan08 B11AA B11AB
01Jan09 A11AB A11AC
;
run;
/*2. Customer addresses */
data cust;
input nm $ dt_reg date7. pc $;
format dt_reg date.;
cards;
Smith 01Aug07 A11AA
Jones 01Aug08 A11AB