BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
GeorgeSAS
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hello all,

May I ask where SAS will search the SASxxx.cfg file automatically? 

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

RTM

It depends a little on your OS, here's the Unix documentation.

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/hostunx/69602/HTML/default/viewer.htm#p13flc1vsrqwr8n1vu...

Ksharp
Super User
proc options option=config value;run;
GeorgeSAS
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Thank you, I can use the option to show the location of cfg file, I want to know how does SAS search the location of the cfg file? is there any default searching location? thank you!
Reeza
Super User

Did you read the documentation I linked you to?

GeorgeSAS
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hello Reeza,

I am still reading it now. lots of information in the documentation. also I think I don't have permission to change the cfg file.I am a programmer.

I have another quesiton for you, there is always a cfg file(Let's call it config1) at C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.3,in the file always write:

-config "C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.3\nls\en\sasv9.cfg" (I don't have permission change it,I am a programmer)

and in the file: "C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.3\nls\en\sasv9.cfg"(Let's call it config2),the real options were wrote inside. ....why not write all config in config1 but in config2 insdead?

Thank you!

Reeza
Super User

NLS -> National Language Support

en -> English

What happens if you had multiple languages?

This provides the mechanism to have a default somewhere and then customized versions in the language section. 

If you don't have permissions and are 'just a programmer' then I wouldn't worry about the config file. To be frank the questions you've been asking are more administration related and not SAS 'programming' related so...

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.