BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ammarhm
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

There is no better place to ask this question than here!

I have been using SAS for a couple of years now, and i love it. The learning curve is steep but the procedures are well described and standerized, tested and reliable.

Macro language is a big plus

I have recently starting coding with R, to test the environment. Som of my friends praised the flexibility and diversity of R, especially the graphics part.

I guess it takes time to get used to R but i find it fragmented, with many ways to do the same thing (depending on the library you choose) which becomes confusing

People used to complain SAS is expensive, but with the introduction of SAS studio, which is not only free but web based making it very portable, I wonder if there is a reason to learn R at all?

R seems to be more resourses intensive than SAS too...

I would love to hear comments from everyone here on this subject

Kind regards

4 REPLIES 4
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Since you are asking this queston in a SAS forum, you may have to take into account some bias towards the "SAS-is-better answer" 🙂

For me, though it does not hurt to know a bit of R/MATLAB/Python, SAS is the way to go. If you haven't already, then check out the IML language, which is a matrix based language like R.

Btw, be aware that you can call functions in the R language using IML as described here

https://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/imlug/66845/HTML/default/viewer.htm#imlug_r_toc.htm

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

First of all, SAS Studio is not free at all. It requires a SAS server backend with considerable license costs.

The only "free" SAS thing is SAS UE, which may only be used for learning purposes.

R, on the other hand, is free as in beer and free as in speech (GPL version 3).

Your complaint about the fragmentation of modules in R is valid, and it is typical for such environments. I read a similar complaint from @Reeza in one thread here.