BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
saamiq
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to the SAS programming. I having one problem: The SAS could not read two variables from the data set (.dat file). I have enclosed one dimension of the data set below:
Faculty Charles Porter charles.porter@csu.edu 555-8511 AERO
out of 6 variables above(RowID Group FirstName LastName EmailAddress PhoneNumber and Dept);
EmailAddress and PhoneNumber donot show up in the output results. Under the EmailAddress column- output show like this:email:ch and PhoneNumber is blank.

data Cusers;

infile 'sas/vrdc/......................./comusers.dat';

input RowID Group$ FirstName$ LastName$ EmailAddress$ PhoneNumber Department$;

Run;

Please let me know where is the probelm in the code to read these two variables correctly.
Thank you,
Sahib

6 REPLIES 6
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Several things:

1) There is no "rowid" in the test data you give.

2) Phone number is a text string as "-" is not numeric within a number

3) put a space before the $

4) Set the length of each variable, otherwise it will default to 8 and chop off the end

5) Specify delimiter

Update to:

data Cusers;
  length group firstname lastname emailaddress phonenumber department $100;
   infile datalines dlm=" ";
   input Group $ FirstName $ LastName $ EmailAddress $ PhoneNumber $ Department $;
datalines;
Faculty Charles Porter charles.porter@csu.edu 555-8511 AERO
;
Run;

This uses datalines, but you can just replace datalines with your file and drop that part.

saamiq
Calcite | Level 5
Hello,

Thank you very much it works now. Really appreciated.

Sahib

saamiq
Calcite | Level 5

It works now, Thank you very much.

Sahib

saamiqbal
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I have accepted a solutions, so problem is solved.

Thank you for your support.

Sahib

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,