BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Moviefan04
Calcite | Level 5

I am working in SAS 9.4.  I have a data set and one of the variables is called 'state'.  I need to remove all rows in which the 'state' variable is not equal to 'Alaska'.  I also need to combine three other variables (month, day, and year) to create a new variable called EruptionDate and then drop those other 3 variables.  The final thing that I can't figure out is how to only display the eruptions occuring after the year 2005.  I am quite new to SAS and programming in general and this is what I have so far, but it's not working:

DATA Alsaka;

SET Work.earthquake;

IF State = Alaska

THEN EruptionDate = Month, Day, Year

ELSE REMOVE row;

DROP Month;

DROP Day;

DROP Year;

RUN;

PROC PRINT Data= Alaska;

WHERE year GT 2005;

RUN;

Thanks for any help.

3 REPLIES 3
GreggB
Pyrite | Level 9

There are errors in your code. Can you post a few observations of your data?

art297
Opal | Level 21

Depends upon what values you have for Month, Day and Year. You may be able to use something like:

DATA Alaska (drop=Month Day Year);
  SET Work.earthquake;
  format EruptionDate date9.;
  IF State = 'Alaska' THEN do;
    EruptionDate = mdy(Month, Day, Year);
    output;
  end;
RUN;
PROC PRINT Data= Alaska;
 WHERE year(EruptionDate) GT 2005;
RUN;

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

Moviefan04
Calcite | Level 5

I made a few adjustments to tailor it to get my desired result but your post helped a lot.  Thank you!

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.

Pre-conference courses and tutorials are filling up fast and are always a sellout. Register today to reserve your seat.

Register now!

How to Concatenate Values

Learn how use the CAT functions in SAS to join values from multiple variables into a single value.

Find more tutorials on the SAS Users YouTube channel.