BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
shukuchi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner to SAS programming and would like some advice on a specific issue. I have my data laid out like this:

Customer ID   date                   Code            
1                   1/1/2013             HPP

2                   1/2/2013             ABC

3                   1/5/2013             ABC

4                   1/20/2013           HPP

I would like to only get the customer ID which has the first occurrence of Code "ABC", which is row 2. How do I go about doing this?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Here's one approach:

data want;

set have (obs=1);

where code='ABC';

run;

In older releases of the software, the combination of WHERE and OBS was illegal.  After a while, SAS decided on what the right way to interpret that combination should be, and made it do what you are asking for.

Good luck.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Jagadishkatam
Amethyst | Level 16

Please try the below code, this will produce the output which has the first occurrence of code

data have;

input Customer_ID   date : mmddyy10.   Code$;

format date mmddyy10.;

cards;

1                   1/1/2013             HPP

2                   1/2/2013             ABC

3                   1/5/2013             ABC

4                   1/20/2013           HPP

;

proc sort data=have;

by Code;

run;

data want;

set have;

by Code;

if first.Code;

run;

Thanks,

Jagadish

Thanks,
Jag
shukuchi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Jagadishkatam,

Thanks for your prompt response. But what if for this specific purpose I don't want to sort the data by code? I just want to find the first occurrence where Code = "ABC" on the unsorted data.

Thanks.

Astounding
PROC Star

Here's one approach:

data want;

set have (obs=1);

where code='ABC';

run;