BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SeekYourWay
Calcite | Level 5

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to SAS but just wondering if SAS has the ability to add record.

I have an Excel table contain lines of records. Because we need to make information complete, for each record in an Excel table, I need to add one additional line based on few logics. (I can do this manually, but it takes long to complete)

I know that an Excel macro can help me do the job if my logics are correctly built in, but in a general sense, does SAS have the ability to add record into existing record table? Not sure if I'm asking the right people.

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Yes, SAS can append records to an Excel dataset. There are at least two methods. Try the following (after adjusting the file path to your environment) :

libname xl excel "&sasForum.\datasets\addRecord.xlsx" scan_text=no;

data xl.one;
do x = 1 to 10;
output;
end;
run;

data two;
do x = 11 to 20;
output;
end;
run;

proc append base=xl.one data=two; run;

data three;
do x = 21 to 30;
output;
end;
run;

proc sql;
insert into xl.one select * from three;
quit;

libname xl clear;

PG

PG
SeekYourWay
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

Thanks for your response.

If you have a moment to spare, my problem is described in the attached file.

This table is the initial record table into which one additional record needs to be added.

Record_IDAssessment_Typeadmission_dateStart_DateEnd_DateBreak_down_Necessarydays_Counted
234/11/20104/14/20104/16/2010n2
244/11/20104/16/20106/15/2010y60

the following table shows the added record

Record_IDAssessment_Typeadmission_DateStart_DateEnd_DateBreak_down_Necessarydays_Counted
234/11/20104/14/20104/16/2010n2
2added4/11/20104/16/20106/15/2010added60
244/11/20106/15/20106/15/2010n0