BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
raajdesaii
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello SAS Community, this is my first time posting here.

I have been trying to get distances between two locations. One is a hospital with a particular zipcodes for eg.20015, and others are 100 patients with different zipcodes. I have latitudes and longitudes for all the zipcodes to get the straight line distance. I have been trying to look online and read on SAS website on how to about performing this. Can anyone help with an example of a SAS code in a particular situation? 

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
Reeza
Super User

Here's an example from last week:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Statistical-Procedures/How-to-combine-spatial-and-attribute-data-...

It's not zipcode but similar idea. I believe there's also a ZIPCITYDISTANCE function that will take the two zip codes and calculate the distance.

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lefunctionsref/63354/HTML/default/viewer.htm#n1r333fdkro...

@raajdesaii wrote:

Hello SAS Community, this is my first time posting here.

I have been trying to get distances between two locations. One is a hospital with a particular zipcodes for eg.20015, and others are 100 patients with different zipcodes. I have latitudes and longitudes for all the zipcodes to get the straight line distance. I have been trying to look online and read on SAS website on how to about performing this. Can anyone help with an example of a SAS code in a particular situation? 

Thanks!

raajdesaii
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you for your reply and the link to the thread. Those threads would let me manually input the zipcodes and that would be possible if i have limited number of observations. In my case, I have 100 observations and the zipcodes are from the same variable so I am not sure how to write the code. 

Reeza
Super User

Those are examples of how to create data for demonstration purposes so that anyone, anywhere can take them and run them to see how it works.