BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
matthewjkancy
Calcite | Level 5

Hello Everyone,

I'm a Data Science student at Stockton University in New Jersey, and I'm beginning my journey into SAS. I'm having a hard time trying to get the dates loaded into SAS. I'm using a Linux computer and my code is below:

/** FOR CSV Files uploaded from Unix/MacOS **/
LIBNAME ozone "/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/";
FILENAME CSV "/folders/myfolders/My Folders/sasuser.v94/Ozone_data 2015.csv" TERMSTR=LF;
PROC IMPORT DATAFILE="/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Ozone_data 2015.csv"
OUT=ozone
DBMS=CSV
REPLACE
RUN;

DATA ozone;
infile "/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Ozone_data 2015.csv";
input mydate MMDDYY10.;
RUN;

What happends when I run my code is that the dates don't show up, however, a chart does. Any help would be greatrly appreciated!!

SASProblem.png
5 REPLIES 5
Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

Few remarks:

1) the syntax of FILENAME is:

FILENAME <file_reference> <engine> '...path...' <options>;

You haven't defined the file reference and havn't used 'CSV' as file reference.

I Assume you meant to write:

FILENAME myfile CSV  "/folders/myfolders/My Folders/sasuser.v94/Ozone_data 2015.csv" TERMSTR=LF;

2)  Does your FILENAME statement refer to the input or to the output file ?

Assuming it is your input CSV file then addapt your code to:

PROC IMPORT DATAFILE=myfile ...  etc.

3)  In order to help you more please upload few lines from your input CSV file.

4) You are creating DATA OZONE twice: 1) by proc import 2) by data ozone; infile ...

Have you checked yor output after proc import ? I thing the data step is not needed !

Reeza
Super User

I would also recommend placing files under myfolders or a subfolder not the sasuser folder. 

As indicated you've imported the data twice, use either proc import or the data step.