BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
KevinC_
Fluorite | Level 6
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I was running a query on a few DB2 tables and writing the result to a sas dataset A. Then I got this error:

ERROR: Write to WORK.A.DATA failed. File is full and may be damaged.

Does this mean the sas dataset A is full?
I ran this on mainframe. Has anyone see this error before? Can I alter the size of a temporary sas dataset?

Thanks alot for your input!!
Kevin
5 REPLIES 5
deleted_user
Not applicable
It generally means that the storage media the dataset is on is full.
On Unix, it's the filesystem.
On Windows, it's the logical drive
On a Mainframe, it's the pre-allocated extents
deleted_user
Not applicable
The allocation of space on a mainframe was one of my earliest challenges. I would estimate the space required, call for a primary that would take 90% of the data set and then call for secondary extents that were 10% of the final size.

If sufficient space is available on the VolSer assigned, then in theory this should give you 90 + ( 15 * 10)% of the required space. The glitch in this estimation is that the primary must be assigned in five or fewer logical extents, or the assignment will fail. The second issue is that sufficient space exists to make the allocation required. In the above calculation, that means up to 240% of the expected file size. These assumptions are often premature as jobs fail reasonably late in the step due to space issues.

Try increasing your primary or secondary allocation sizes, and if your allocations are controlled by SMS, then pick a larger assignment pattern.

It may be that you cannot do either of these things, so a third option is to reduce the space stress by loading your memory a little with a request to compress the output data set. The following untested code will demonstrate the idea.

Data PERIOD( Compress = Yes);
Set DB2.FINANCIALS;
Run;