BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
KevinViel
Pyrite | Level 9

On a Windows environment, I wrap my programs in two macros.  The first directs the log and lst to permanent files via the PRINTTO procedure.  The second closes the PRINTTO, parses the log for notes, warnings, and errors of interest, then sends the summary of the log check to the lst file.

This is not an option in batch submission, so I updated the first macro to write to the log via PRINTTO to an alternative location, namely "file.log" becomes file__BATCH.log".  I then work on this file and delete it at the end after I have parsed its contents using the second macro and I keep the file specified by -LOG as the permanent log.

I am somewhat new to SAS batch.  I have two questions:

1) Is my assessment correct that I cannot read from the file specified by the -LOG option in the current program, thus necessitating the second "shadow" log (I dislike the thought of possibility of writing *two* Gb sized logs, say if I were to be processing genomic data).

2) I invoke the SAS batch call using the X command.  Is that an acceptable choice?  I write each call using CALL EXECUTE.

Thank you,

Kevin

12 REPLIES 12
Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

You can read the log, immediatley after closing the log file by PROC PRINTTO; RUN; 

as demostarted by next tested example:

proc printto log='/folders/myshortcuts/My_Folders/flat/test_log1.log';
data a;
  do x=1 to 5;
    y=x*3;
    output;
  end;
run;
proc printto; run;

filename mylog '/folders/myshortcuts/My_Folders/flat/test_log1.log';
data _null_;
  infile mylog truncover;
  input log_line $100.;
  file print ods;
  put @3 '--- ' log_line $100.;
run;

adapt it to your needs, either OnLine or Batch.

SASKiwi
PROC Star