BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ammarhm
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi everyone.

Appologies if this is not the right form...

I have been using SAS Base for a few years. SAS EG comes installed with the SAS bundle I have but I have never really used it... Once every now and then I would try to use it but would then immediatly go back to SAS Base as i find it cleaner and less confusing....

So just wondering, what are (if any) the advantages of moving from SAS base to EG

THanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ammarhm
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Thank you everyone for the kind replies

Seems everyone is in agreement that there is (probably) no huge gain from moving to EG.

Appreciate your time and advice

kind regards

Am

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@ammarhm

What's right for you really depends - SAS Base aka PC SAS aka Display Manager, SAS Enterprise Guide or SAS Studio.

http://blogs.sas.com/content/sasdummy/2014/05/30/sas-studio-and-eg/ 

As for the Display Manager ("SAS Base"):

This is actually a windowing environment which sits directly on your SAS server and in order to use it  on your PC you must have a local SAS installation (SAS binaries installed). Almost all bigger SAS sites I know of use a client-server architecture and more and more without an additional license and installation of SAS on PC's. 

I do miss metabrowse in SAS EG but I really like how easily I can execute code on a server and switch between servers if there are multiple. I also like how easy it is to recover when I stuff up in my code with unbalanced quotation marks and the like. I'm also fond of some of the wizards, i.e. the import wizard which allows me to quickly generate a code template for reading a text file.