BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
kiran28
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS. I am currently working on a project. I have designed an Excel Macro which will automate a process and provide an output. The user has to upload an excel file into the server, and my program has to fetch the excel file, run the Macro in it, and provide another excel file as the output. All this has to take place in the background automatically at runtime. I asked for suggestions from my friends and they asked me try the same with SAS. I would like to be provided with procedures and Ideas on how to use SAS on my project or any other feasible method.

Thank you.

9 REPLIES 9
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Depends on the inputs output methods.  SAS can read Excel files in, do processing, and then write Excel files out no problem.  But how will you get the file in, and how will you provide the file back to the client, these are the main questions.  And the answer to which will drive what SAS product you choose, or process you go with.  For instance there is a SAS server setup with stored processes that can automate process.  Or you could just have desktop SAS installed and run a program.  Or you could have a batch program which calls SAS with the relevant SAS code.

Its a case of how long is my bit of string...

RandyMullis
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Hi, @kiran28. I would first figure out the SAS code to accomplish what you want. (Read in the file, manipulate the data, write out the result file). Then I would focus on how to call the SAS program in an automated way. SAS is very good at executing in batch (using the Task Scheduler if you're on Windows).

I'm sure the users here can help with both aspects of what you're trying to do, but you can help us help you by breaking it down into two parts.

Randy

kiran28
Calcite | Level 5