BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mcrum1
Calcite | Level 5

Hello! I’m still pretty new to SAS. Please bear with me while I ask my question. I created a directory with my libname statement that creates a daily folder named after the date it was created. If I wanted to reference those tables in the last folder created in another program how would I do that? Currently I run the programs on separate days and I’m having to manually change the libname statement to reference the last date ran. I would like to automate it if at all possible.

UDIR= My user directory

Rundate = 06AUG

Program 1 that creates the directory:

options dlcreatedir;

LIBNAME X "&UDIR\SAS TABLES\201408\&RUNDATE";

Program 2:

What I would like:

LIBNAME X "&UDIR\SAS TABLES\201408\&RUNDATE"

What I currently have to do:

LIBNAME X "&UDIR\SAS TABLES\201408\05AUG"

Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8
jwillis
Quartz | Level 8

I wrote my rundate out to a txt file then read the text file into the second program.  I made the value in the text file a macro variable in the second program.  I am certain that SAS experts have more novel solutions.

(not tested)

/* at end of program 1 */

data _null_;

file 'my file to hold the date value.txt";

put "&rundate.";

run;

/* at beginning of program 2 */

filename datex 'my file to hold the date value.txt";

data _null_;

infile datex.....

input.........

call symput........

run;

Astounding
PROC Star

If it's feasible, you could always link the two programs.  For example, the last statement in Program 1 could be:

%include program2.sas;

But I know there are posters here who can solve this.  There definitely are ways to say, "Create a list of all subfolder names, and read that into a DATA step."  Then have the DATA step find the largest value.  Presumably the largest value is the right one, since all your sufolders would belong to the same month.

ballardw
Super User