BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
nk_sas
Fluorite | Level 6

ACR7.957.80
MGI4.754.00
BLD112.25109.75
CFP9.659.25
MAL8.258.10
CM45.9045.30
AZC1.991.93
CMW20.0019.00
AMZ2.702.30
GAC52.0050.25

Hello All - I am a novice in SAS trying to get my hands wet with coding. Above is the data from my notepad which i was to convert into a SAS dataset. First 3 letters go into  var=  Prod.code (line 6 has only CM, just 2 letters), two numbers with 2 decimals each follow. The first 2 decimal #  goes under "msrp" variable and the following 2 decimal # under "holidayprice".

Please provide some directions/leads on how to approach this problem.

Thanks 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
nk_sas
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you for the reply. You've introduced me to new functions to deal with such a task. On the same lines, what kinds of suggestions would you give me to do well at coding in SAS. The kind of approach i need (i dont have computer science background).

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
andreas_lds
Jade | Level 19

Using a regular expression can solve the task. Have a look at the functions prxparse, prxmatch and prxposn.

data work.want;

length 
      ProdCode $ 3 mrsp holidayprice 8
      _rx 8
   ;

format mrsp holidayprice 10.2;

retain _rx;
   drop _rx;

if _n_ = 1 then do;
      _rx = prxparse('/([A-Z]+)(\d+\.\d\d)(\d+\.\d\d)/');
   end;

input;

if prxmatch(_rx, strip(_infile_)) then do;
      ProdCode = prxposn(_rx, 1, strip(_infile_));
      mrsp = input(prxposn(_rx, 2, strip(_infile_)), best32.);
      holidayprice = input(prxposn(_rx, 3, strip(_infile_)), best32.);
   end;

datalines;
ACR7.957.80
MGI4.754.00
BLD112.25109.75
CFP9.659.25
MAL8.258.10
CM45.9045.30
AZC1.991.93
CMW20.0019.00
AMZ2.702.30
GAC52.0050.25
;
run;
nk_sas
Fluorite | Level 6