BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I have a binary file that was originally created on a RISC/AIX platform. The file is being stuffed (ftp'd) into a mainframe dataset that is fixed block (FB), LRECL=80, and a BLOCKSIZE=6160. The file contains a mix of character data, integer, and floating point numbers. I do not have any control over the ftp and the mainframe dataset. I need to be able to read and process this file on the mainframe and was looking for some advice on how to do this.

I am new to SAS on the mainframe, but do have experience with SAS on Sun/Solaris environment reading binary files using recfm=n with the various "ib" informats. I've tried recfm=n on the mainframe, but I get an error message something like "byte positioning is not allowed...". Is it possible to read binary files on the mainframe? What is the correct recfm and infile options that I should be setting?
5 REPLIES 5
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Are you expecting to do byte-level processing or record-level processing? And will the data be handled as ASCII or EBCDIC? One option is to read the data byte by byte using $CHAR INFORMAT for some purpose, but what that purpose may be is unclear from your post, as I can tell.

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
deleted_user
Not applicable
Here's some more info for my problem. Sorry it's a bit long, but I wanted to toss it all out there.

The binary file contains several different data structures (records) embedded within it and some of those data structures repeat (nested records with counters built into the previous record). Each of those records have a different lengths (number of bytes). Ultimately, I want to read each of those record types and do some record level processing on them.