BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
rssg83
Calcite | Level 5

I'm a newbie with SAS. I'm trying to convert a CSV file into SAS format. Please find the code and logs below and let me know what is wrong.

OPTIONS NOFMTERR ;
%let table=%sysget(v1);
%let outfil=%sysget(v2);
%macro importa ;
proc import datafile="&table" out="&outfil" dbms=csv replace ; run ;
%mend importa ;
%importa ;

CSV file:

27697,1,PF,2,33,1,5,21,1987-11-09,0,1983-06-28,1987-11-09,,29,1,11,0,4,0,,32,,0,2,,,0,,I,2016-11-30,23950,4,28

When I run the sas command like:

sas -noterminal -set v1 /mypath/temp.csv -set v2 /mypath /mypath/import.sas

it errors out that:

NOTE: SAS initialization used:
real time 0.02 seconds
cpu time 0.01 seconds
1 OPTIONS NOFMTERR ;
3 %let table=%sysget(v1);
4 %let outfil=%sysget(v2);
6 %macro importa ;
7 proc import datafile="&table" out="&outfil" dbms=csv replace ; run ;
8 %mend importa ;
9 %importa ;
ERROR: ""/mypath"" is not a valid name.
NOTE: PROCEDURE IMPORT used (Total process time):
real time 0.00 seconds
cpu time 0.00 seconds
NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.

4 REPLIES 4
ballardw
Super User

It appears that

set v2 /mypath /mypath/import.sas

is getting the value of /mypath for V2 because of the space

V2 would have to resolve to a valid dataset name or LIbrary.dataset name. So no characters other than letters, digits and underscore and cannot start with a digit

set v2 mydatasetname perhaps

rssg83
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for your response. I tried both of these but I still get same error:

sas -noterminal -set v1 /mypath/temp.csv -set v2 test_csv.dataset /mypath/import.sas

sas -noterminal -set v1 /mypath/temp.csv -set v2 test_csv /mypath/import.sas

Both returns the same error:

ERROR: ""test_csv"" is not a valid name.

ERROR: ""test_csv.dataset"" is not a valid name.
ballardw
Super User