BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
wentao
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am new to SAS and I am just doing a simple practise now.

Say now I have a txt raw data file looks like this:

"ABDSADJFASF",6,7,"SDDASDJASD", 12/12/2012, "ASDSDADASD",0.0,0.0.0

"FGHJKJHGGHJK",6,7,"SUUNSDHDHH", 11/12/2009, "AFSDFDGDSGSD",0.0,0.0.0

I can read in all the vars by set them all as char(using :&) and then output the dataset with exactly the values between dlm ',' (ie. some values with quotes and some don't).

But how can I convert the dataset back to another txt file, which should be exacly like the raw txt file?

I was using proc export but I can't use putnames statement since my version is 9.1, any workaround?

3 REPLIES 3
ballardw
Super User

Is the purpose to manipulate the data and create output or to create an exact duplicate of the input text file?

If the later case then look at PUT _infile_; with the new file name in a FILE statement in the data step you read the file with.

wentao
Calcite | Level 5

libname library 'c:\';

filename final 'c:\final_out.txt';
proc export data=library.test
outfile="c:\final_out.txt"
dbms=csv replace;
run;

data _null_;
      infile "c:\final_out.txt" firstobs=2;
set library.test;
      file "c:\final_out.txt";
input;
put _infile_;
run;

That's my code.

But the first row of results still have headers for every variables. And all values are missing quotation marks.

ballardw
Super User

@wentao wrote:

That's my code.

But the first row of results still have headers for every variables. And all values are missing quotation marks.

I see nothing in your post about not wanting the header row only that you couldn't use the putnames statement.

if _n_ > 1 then put _infile_;

will write other than  the header rows.