BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mjsommerville
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, I am a novice sas user. I recently have found a solution to my problem, but figuring out why it is working has been diffiicult. It is crucial that I understand whats going on. It is my hope that someone can explain why this code is effective. 

Basically, I have three distinct Keys (incident_key, discipline_key, and offender_key) and want to concatenate by row to include all offense codes in one line. A mock version of the data, called "discipline" looks like: 

incident_iddiscipline_keyoffender_keyoffense_code
1119011FA
1122867FA
2345666FA
2345666WR
26788975YP
26788975RQ

I found this solution on this same website, and it works perfectly: 

data discipline_with_concat;

length all_offense $200.;

do until (last.discipline_key);

set discipline;

by discipline_key notsorted;

all_offense=catx(',',all_offense,number);

end;

The code provides this output: 

incident_iddiscipline_keyoffender_keyoffense_codeall_offense
1119011FAFA
1122867FAFA
2345666FAFA,WR
26788975YPYP,RQ

Can someone please explain, if possible, in a simple and linear way, how this code is working? Often to find answers I run variations of the code and that made me wonder: Why is it that I need to concatenate offense_code with the newly created variable specified in the length statement? If i do not do that, it simply pulls the last observation for each discipline key. Any insight would be greatly appreciated, thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

What you have is an example of DOW loop.  You should be able to search for papers on this. Look for ones by Ian Whitlock.