BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Giuliano
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am fairly new to SAS.  I created a table to give me all billing rates for various products or features that I am looking at.  I need to run this table once a month to compare the billing rate for the products and features month over month.  I would need a program or DATA Step to execute the table and compare the list month over month.  Every month I will need to highlight any new or deleted products and features.  I will also need to highlight any pricing changes for existing products and features.  My Master Table will need to contain the billing rates for all months going forward.  I will need to add a new column every month to show the billing rate for that month and if there were any changes.  The header will also have to be insterted automaticall with the current month.  I will also need to create a separate monthly report with only the current month and the previous months billing rate along with any changes, additions or deletions.  For example, this month I would show the billing rate for December and the billing rate for January only, with a comparison of the 2 months.  Next month I would compare January and February.  I pasted of an example of my headers below.  The number of products or features I will be comparing would exceed 30k records per month.

I am not even sure where to start with this.  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

SOC FeatureFeature DescriptionRate_201412Rate_201501Rate_201502Rate_201503
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

It's easier to append your data so its in a long format and then have a transpose at some point to get the format you need.

ie

SOC Feature FeatureDescription Month Rate

..............201401 1

201402 1

201403 2

Proc Append and Proc Transpose are worth looking into.