BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
alep92
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi guys,

I'm a new SAS programmer so I'm sorry if I ask you an easy question and I use SAS studio.

I have a dataset made of 3 variables (qtr code id), I want obtain a dataset with id variable that contains every observations of the input dataset but repeated only once and a number of variables that correspond to the maximum frequency of the id in the input dataset.

I ask you if there is a way to get this output with only one proc transpose and not by using two proc transpose and then merge the output.

This is my code but it doesn't produce the desired output.

data ex.data;
input id qtr code $;
datalines;
1 2 A
2 3 C
2 1 B
3 2 A
4 3 C
5 1 D
5 1 A
6 3 A
;
run;
proc transpose data=ex.data out=ex.out;
by id;
var qtr code;
run;

Thanks,

Alessandro

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ksharp
Super User

Yes. This kind of question have been talked about many time. You could search it at this forum and get the answer.

The simples way is to use proc mean+ idgroup :

data data;
input id qtr code $;
datalines;
1 2 A
2 3 C
2 1 B
3 2 A
4 3 C
5 1 D
5 1 A
6 3 A
;
run;

proc sql;
select max(n) into : n
 from (select count(*) as n from data group by id);
quit;
proc summary data=data;
by id;
output out=want idgroup(out[&n] (qtr code)=);
run;

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Can you explain what your desired output would look like, given the sample code you've posted?? Why did you decide on a PROC TRANSPOSE approach? It sounds to me like you want PROC FREQ.

cynthia
alep92
Fluorite | Level 6

The output that I desire look like this:

id  qtr1  qtr2  code3  code4
1  2        .        A
2  3       1        C         B
3  2        .        A
4  3        .        C
5  1       1        D         A
6  3        .        A

Reeza
Super User