BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Paul_NYS
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi

I used macros all the time and always come across an issue--is it possible to use certain steps in a macro situationally? That is, depending on the value of one of the incoming parameters, process certain parts of the overall macro? For example, if the second parameter = "flag", then the "newValue" data step will be processed, otherwise it will be bypassed?

Paul

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

: Why?  Good question!

My usual answer would be that I'm a psychologist, not a programmer.

However, the real answer was because I copied and pasted from an old macro I had handy and didn't even notice.  Interestingly, no one complained about the inclusion of quotes.  Yes, the following would have sufficed:

%if %upcase(&myparaneter)=FLAG %then

regardless, both will do what Paul wanted to accomplish.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
art297
Opal | Level 21

Yes, a simple construction like

%if %sysfunc(upcase("&myparameter.")) eq "FLAG" %then %do;

data whatever;

/*statements*/

run;

%end;

should accomplish what you want.

Paul_NYS
Obsidian | Level 7

Thanks Art. I am giving this a shot and will let you know.

Paul

Amir
PROC Star

Hi Art,

Just curious, is there any reason why you didn't use macro function %upcase?

Regards,

Amir.

art297
Opal | Level 21

: Why?  Good question!

My usual answer would be that I'm a psychologist, not a programmer.

However, the real answer was because I copied and pasted from an old macro I had handy and didn't even notice.  Interestingly, no one complained about the inclusion of quotes.  Yes, the following would have sufficed:

%if %upcase(&myparaneter)=FLAG %then

regardless, both will do what Paul wanted to accomplish.

Peter_C
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Hi Art