BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
goldenflash
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, 

Im new to SAS university and have been having this issue. I successfully assigned the library but can't get proc contents to work. There is a custfm.xls file in my folder. Sorry if this is trivial and thank you.

sAS excel.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

XLSX seems buggy for that to be honest. But you've also used XLSX to connect to an XLS file which isn't correct. Try changing it to EXCEL, except I'm not sure that works in SAS UE. Can you try saving your file as XLSX and try again?

Your approach is correct, and I can confirm that it does work in SAS UE. 

So the issue is likely the file itself or the file type specified. 

@goldenflash wrote:

Hello, 

Im new to SAS university and have been having this issue. I successfully assigned the library but can't get proc contents to work. There is a custfm.xls file in my folder. Sorry if this is trivial and thank you.

sAS excel.PNG

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Reeza
Super User

XLSX seems buggy for that to be honest. But you've also used XLSX to connect to an XLS file which isn't correct. Try changing it to EXCEL, except I'm not sure that works in SAS UE. Can you try saving your file as XLSX and try again?

Your approach is correct, and I can confirm that it does work in SAS UE. 

So the issue is likely the file itself or the file type specified. 

@goldenflash wrote:

Hello, 

sAS excel.PNG

goldenflash
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, 

Thank you for your reply. I've tried saving as xlxs but I still get the same log output. I've attached copies (an xls and xlxs file) of my excel so that you can check if there is a problem with the excels. Thank you for your time. 

Code for your convenience:

LIBNAME custfm XLSX '/folders/myfolders/dataset/custfm.xlsx';

proc contents data=custfm._all_;
run;

sAS excel.PNG