BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
auroshika16
Calcite | Level 5

Hello folks,

I am a complete newbie to SAS and i have started going through BASE SAS. I have good experience in R for data science and i would like to work with SAS in data science/analytics . I have loads of questions regarding what exactly do i learn, where to start, what are the differences between SAS EG, SAS data mining and other stuff related to data analytics, how is a sas programmer different from the one who does analytics or are they the same, and also, before i could post this question, a number of communities popped up and i was confused as to which community i target this question to.  Any help is greatly appreciated as i have absolutely no idea in which direction i have to proceed learning SAS. Thanks! 🙂

6 REPLIES 6
ballardw
Super User

My two cents on your questions

"what are the differences between SAS EG, SAS data mining and other stuff related to data analytics". EG is an environment for accessing various SAS tools and controlling/showing process flows. Most everything else are packages of the analytic procedures.

"how is a sas programmer different from the one who does analytics or are they the same": Depends on the shop and job. In my case it is both programmer and analyst (and designer and database manager and ...). In very large shops a programmer could be similar to any other application programmer putting code together to accomplish specified tasks. Analysis may be done through various interfaces custom or SAS supplied or by creating code and processes as needed for specific tasks.

I recommend that you look into the online help of BASE SAS as there are many examples available. One section should be labeled "learning to use SAS" or similar and would have example programs. If you are familiar with another programming language then often the fun part comes in learning the different syntax to do things you suspect are possible.