BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
MarkGIP
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone!

First of all I want to make clear that I'm fairly new to SAS and the concept of MACROS. So please be patient with me;)

While searching the web I came accross a really helpful MACRO set: DO_OVER annd ARRAY. I adjusted my code and implemented the MACROS at different spots of my code. At first everything worked like a charm until I added a MACRO loop.

Here's a simple example:

%MEND;

/*1. Set Array*/

%ARRAY(REGRESSORS,VALUES=A B);

%MACRO SIMULATION;

%DO MACRO = 1 %TO 2;

/*2. Regression*/

proc reg data=panel;

model y = %DO_OVER(REGRESSORS);

run;

%end;

%MEND SIMULATION;

%SIMULATION;

run;

Since then I always get the following error message for the MACRO inside the loop:

NOTE: Line generated by the macro function "TP".

1 %&MACRO(&&REGRESSORS&I)

-

ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: a name, ;, /, _ALL_, _CHARACTER_, _CHAR_, _NUMERIC_, {.

ERROR 76-322: Syntax error, statement will be ignored.

Hopefully you could help me with this dilemma..... THANK YOU!!!

11 REPLIES 11
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Did you try exiting from SAS and starting over with a clean slate?  It is possible you had code before with unbalanced quotes or () and SAS is just confused.

If you are already writing a macro named then there is not much value to using the DO_OVER and ARRAY macros as you can just write normal SAS macro logic code to loop for you.

But in the little bit of code you posted that does not even seem needed.

%MACRO SIMULATION(dataset,REGRESSORS);

proc reg data=&dataset;

model y = &regressors ;

run;

%MEND SIMULATION;

%SIMULATION(panel,A B);

MarkGIP
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Tom,

Thanks for your quick reply. I know that the DO_OVER macro is not needed in the sample code I posted. I just wanted to reproduce the error with a simple example...

I've already restarted SAS a couple of times and rerun the code. The error pops up every time I try:(

Any ideas?

Peter_C