BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Anovalyy
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am a beginner of SAS now.

Now I have a data which contains extremely long character variables. Which means the length of these variables are greater than 8. Meanwhile, there are blank and comma within this varable. What's worse, within the same column, there are different format of date.

I wonder how I should do. Actually I have an idea to use macro variables to track length of each variable and then use @ to locate where I should start to read for next variable. However once I have defined the length of several variables, I do not know the order that SAS read them.

I really appreciate your help.

Thank you very much.

8 REPLIES 8
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

My advice is not to jump on SAS Macro variables as the solution to your problem. I am not even sure I understand what your input data looks like. While your verbal description is OK, it is not clear. You said that you have "a data which contains extremely long character variables" but that doesn't convey whether you have a SAS data set, a raw ASCII text file of data or some other form of data (RDBMS, Excel, Microsoft Access), that you are trying to read/import.

Usually when you ask as question about reading data, it is useful to post a sample of the data and the code that you have tried to use. You say that you are importing -- how are you doing the import? With code? What code? Proc IMPORT? Data step program, Enterprise Guide task?

It would help everybody help you if you could post some of your data and provide information about where the data is coming from. Also provide an example of the code that you've tried to use. And, let us know the ultimate goal (you want a SAS data set so you can forecast something or you want a SAS dataset so you can run PROC GLM or you want a SAS dataset for a frequency report).

cynthia

Anovalyy
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you SOOOOOO much for your advice. I am posting the data now.