BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jswinford
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, I am relatively new to SAS.  I have a dataset that I'm trying to merge with a completely different database, so I've been editing fields in order for the merge to go smoothly. I uploaded this dataset from an .csv file using the import wizard.  For some reason, I can only edit things using PROC SQL with this dataset, and being relativley new to this, I would rather use simpler syntax (PROC DATASETS?).  Can any one think of a reason my dataset would be doing this?  It's been realy frustrating. 

If not, can anyone give me the PROC SQL to do this (a simple if/then statement):

data output;

set input;

If variable1 = 1 then variable2 = 2;

run;

Let me know if you need more information...and bear with me, I am super new at this.

Thanks,

Jillian

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Not sure why you are being forced to use SQL, unless you are actually programming in the external database and not programming in SAS.

The general way to do conditional things in SQL is the CASE statement.

So if your input table as two variables named VARIABLE1 and VARIABLE2 and you wnat to make a new table that is the same data except that variable2 is set to 2 when variable1=1 then your program might look like this.

proc sql ;
create table output  as
select variable1
    , case when (variable1=1) then 2 else variable2 end as variable2 
from input
;
quit;

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Not sure why you are being forced to use SQL, unless you are actually programming in the external database and not programming in SAS.

The general way to do conditional things in SQL is the CASE statement.