BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Eleenrose
Calcite | Level 5

Good morning Everybody,

I am totally new to sas programming, and I am trying to realise a huge data analysis with sas.

I have a database in access which is exported to sas and would like to do some data analsis.

the simple logic I am trying to realise is as follows.

1.I

need to calculate the total number of fax, call or email is made in the whole database.

2. calculate the same for last 6 months.

3. for each user

{

calculate the no: of fax, email, phone in each of the last 6 months.

}

so once the table is exported and in access environment it looks something like attached image

I currently realised the total values (overall value, total for month1 to month6, total email, fax, phone  for month 1-6, total successful email/Fax/phone for month 1-6, total unsuccessfull email/fax/phone for month 1-6.   which is around 110 fields. )

which i do not feel as the best solution to write each and every code(which is repeatative) in proc sql.

1. I am trying to find some optimal way how I can solve it.

2. I want to know how to put the whole name in a loop and calculate for each name the no: of ..fax/phone/email/success/unsucces etc.

I may write the logic this way

for each(name)

{

count no: of email month 1,

count no: email month2...month6

count no: of Fax month 1...month 6

count no: phone month1-month 2

save in the data analysis table

}

this is how I perform it currently

-----------------------------

Proc sql;

select

count (name)

into :count_fax_mon1

from total_6months

where

name<>""

and

communication = "Fax"

and

comm_date = "&mon1";

update communication_statistic

set Fax_mon1 = "&count_fax_mon1";

quit;

run;

---------------------------

any help is appreciated..

Thanks and regards,

Eleenrose

MIS calc.PNG
12 REPLIES 12
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

This small dataset (as it is coming from MS-Access) you want to do some reporting on.