BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hello SAS gurus,

I am new to SAS but had done some programming in past; I am given a task to migrate SAS program written on PC SAS v8 to run under UNIX (HP-UX) SAS v8.

As per SAS claim, codes should be compatible and only data requires some migration; I thought it will be easy job, but realized only after going in-depth in to migration.

Approximately 2000 line PC SAS code is only reading permanent datasets and creating some output files (HTML); I have gone in and changed all references which were specific to PC, changed some excel files in to CSV files; data reading is working fine.

BUT this code does a lot of data manipulation using DATA STEP MERGE, PROC SQL, PROC MEAN only in temporary datasets, create empty datasets, merge datasets with no observations.

These steps work fine on PC SAS but are failing on UNIX especially when you merge multiple datasets with one without any observation.

Please let me know if I am missing anything or if you have seen similar issues.

I would really appreciate any tip; I have been trying to fix but it is very tedious and time consuming. Any trick or tip to trouble shoot real cause of this different behavior will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
UBI
4 REPLIES 4
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
You will need to share exact SAS log output and executed code prior and at the error point in your SAS program. Without this information, it's a guessing game to debug your error condition. Reply to your post and paste the information (SAS code should be revealed for forum subscribers feedback).

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
deleted_user
Not applicable
Scott,

It is almost 1700 lines code; BTW, I have kind of figured out the issue.