BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi,

First off, i´m new to SAS but i have some experience with similar areas. In the project i´m currently involved in, i was asked to look into the possibilities to change the hard coded calculations made in different models, to instead be put in a more manageable way in "meta-tables", which then could be easily versioned separately.

My idea was to solve the calculation of for instance the following:

if theInput = 14 then theOutput=0;
if theInput > 90 then theOutput=90;

to be calculated as follows instead:

theOutput = calculateMe('theInput',theInput);
where calculateMe has access to a "meta-table" holding the specific calculation logic for the variable 'theInput' (i.e having information about what to return for various values of theInput), enabling it to return the correct value in a generic way.

Do i make any sense to anyone and if so, does anyone know of any "best practices" for implementing this type of "pattern"? Perhaps this is a basic approach for anyone familiar to SAS or statistical programming but i haven´t found anything (sugi or such) on this subject yet. Thanks in advance!
6 REPLIES 6
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
A lot of that can be done using the SAS MACRO language. In addition to the manuals, I'd suggest looking at Rick Aster's book on SAS programming shortcurts and one of the BBU's on SAS macro language that are available in the SAS bookstore.

Doc Muhlbaier
Duke
deleted_user
Not applicable
Thank you for the answer, i will look into the macro language to learn more.

It would however still be interesting to know if there are any best practices for realizing this type of pattern since i have a feeling that it must have been done in various projects before.

Kind regards,
Flip
Fluorite | Level 6
Based on what you are showing, I would create a format using my meta-table as a cntrlin data. then recode based on the format.
Patrick
Opal | Level 21
Hi