BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
YoYo
Calcite | Level 5

Hey,

I am new to macro code. Here is my question: have data1- data60 and I want to merge each one of them with dataB based on a common variable "ID". How can  I do that? Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

In that case, JohnW's macro should suit you pretty well.  I would add just one statement:

%macro MergeData (n=);

proc sort data=dataB; by ID; run;

%local i;

%do i=1 %to &n;

proc sort data=data&i; by ID; run;

data merged&i; merge data&i dataB; by ID; run;

%end;

%mend MergeData;

To actually use the macro, you would add later in the same program:

%MergeData (n=60)

Just so you can better see what the result is, also add this statement before using the macro:

options MPRINT;

That should get you started on the right path.  One way to learn about macros would be to take the working macro and figure out how it works.  Good luck.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

%DO

If you don't what do with it, I suggest that you take some kind of class, or at least try to go trough the documentation, which has some samples as well.

Data never sleeps
YoYo
Calcite | Level 5

Suregoing trough the documentation with samples is something I want to try first. Do you have any suggestions about books or other learning materials?

Astounding
PROC Star

If you want a detailed answer, you will have to supply a little more information.  Are you original data sets already sorted by ID?  What names would you like to use for the final data sets, after merging?  The programming will be relatively easy once you have supplied the information.

Good luck.

YoYo
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Astounding,