BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sasRus
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi there, SAS newbie here. I have a SAS library of 40+ files the following dataset name pattern:

McDonalds

McDonaldsFile2

BurgerKing

Wendys

WendysFile2

WendysFile3

PizzaHut

All of these files share the same column names. So some companies have just one file, whereas others have more than one file. I am trying to write a macro to combine each company’s files into one dataset. So McDonalds = McDonalds + McDonaldsFile2, and Wendys = Wendys + WendysFile2 + WendysFile3. The other companies with just one file should stay intact.

Here is the code I’ve tried:

proc contents data=abc._all_ out=abccont(keep=memname) noprint;
run;

proc sort data=abccont nodupkey;
by memname;
run;

data _null_;
set abccont end=last;
by memname;
i+1;
call symputx('name'||trim(left(put(i,8.))),memname);
if last then call symputx('count',i);
run;

%macro combine;
         %do n = 1 %to &count;
               data &memname;
                              set
                              %do j = 2 %to 3;
                                  cats(&memname,’File’,&i);
                              %end;
               run;
%mend combine;

%combine;

I have spent hours searching the forums and google, but to no avail. Any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sasRus
Fluorite | Level 6

thank you for your solutions Tom and mkeintz. I was able to get my solution by tweaking some of Astounding's code:

proc sql;
  create table dataset_list as select distinct memname from dictionary.tables where upcase(libname)='ABC';
  ** Because of the use of DISTINCT, the list should be in alphabetical order ... if not, add order by memname clause;
quit;

data dataset_list;
   set dataset_list;
   position = length(memname) - 4;
   if substr(memname, position) =: 'File' then root = substr(memname, 1, position-1);