BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Learn_uk
Calcite | Level 5

Hello everyone,

I am a relatively new SAS programmer and have what appears to be a rather basic question:

I am trying to execute a SAS macro that I have written in a datastep. To do that, you use the call execute command. The one issue that I am encountering is that I dont get the results I am looking for. I think the problem lies with the fact that macros exucute during the compile phase whereas the datastep is run during the execution phase. So what I want is for the macro to run in the execution stage not the compile stage. Below is very simple example code I wrote: (Note:I realize I can do this many many ways including SQL, merge etc), but I really am only interested in doing this the macro iterative way...more from a learning perspective.

Appreciate your help!

data x;

input pt $ wt;

datalines;

1001 120

1002 244

1002 246

1003 145

1004 241

;

data y;

input pt;

datalines;

;

%macro search(id);

proc sql;

select mean(wt) into :result

from x

where pt="&id";

quit;

%mend search;

data y2;

set y;

call execute('%search(id='||pt||')');

wt=symget('result')

run;

12 REPLIES 12
ballardw
Super User

Assuming you actually have a ; after the wt=symget('result');

The documentation for Call Execute says "resolves its argument and executes the resolved value at the next step boundary (if the value is a SAS statement)". In your example the Proc SQL calls execute after the datastep, think of it as submitting one call to the macro AFTER the data step executes (that's the Step boundary mentioned).

Learn_uk
Calcite | Level 5