BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Greetings. I am relatively new to SAS (but have a good deal of experience in Oracle PL\SQL).
Is it possible to,
1. Loop through a SAS Dataset
2. Assign one of the observation values , say Customer #, to a variable
3. Execute a macro (passing that Customer # variable) that performs a PROC SQL against an Oracle/Teradata database table and returns the information to a SAS dataset and/or variable

I've done some research on this and it appears that it can be done using the SYMPUT function. But I wanted to confirm with a user group first.
I know how to do this using PL/SQL, but nor SAS.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!
Troy
6 REPLIES 6
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
My suggestion is to take a look at the SAS Macro Facility, specifically the way that CALL EXECUTE works. The documentation is here
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/mcrolref/59526/HTML/default/a000543697.htm

and there are 2 relevant examples in the documentation.

cynthia
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Also consider the RESOLVE function within the DATA step facility, however I am unclear about your stated interest - is it that you want to invoke PROC SQL for each DATA step pass as you are creating observations? The phrasing of your post is unclear about how/when you want to perform the stated objective -- that being serially or each/all tasks with each pass of your data?

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
Patrick
Opal | Level 21
If it's about passing a single value as a constant to an SQL statement then consider something like the following (more or less the approach you drafted):

data _null_;
set yourtable;
if then
do;
call symput('MyMacroVar',cats("'",myvar,"'"); /* pass value of myvar to macro variable &MyMacroVar */
stop; /* no further iterations through dataset */
end;
run;

proc sql;
where MyField=&MyMacrovar ....
quit;

If it's about joining (subselect,...) two tables, one in Oracle and one in SAS then let us know.