BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Milo08
Calcite | Level 5

I am a relative novice at SAS coding.  I am attempting to write a MACRO that will continue to call another MACRO until all calculations over a certain threshold have been removed.  After each record gets removed over the threshold I need to re-calculate.  The basic structure looks something similar to this. 

%MACRO Loop (var1, var2);

%let stop = 1;

%Do %until (&stop = 0);

%MACRO Calculate (var3, var4, var5, var6, var7, var8);

<Make calculations>

%MEND Calculate;

PROC SQL;

SELECT cat('%MH_DIF (', var3, ', ', trim(var4), ', ', trim(var5), ', ', var6, ', ',

trim(var7), ', ', trim(var8), ' ', ');') into :List separated by ' '

FROM AllIData

WHERE X = &var1 and Y = "&var2";

quit;

%put &list;

proc sort data = &var1_&var2;

by descending Calculation;

run;

PROC SQL;

SELECT calculation, item into :maxvalue, :max

FROM &var1_&var2. (OBS=1)

quit;

%if &maxvalue > 1.5 %then

%do;

data rejects1;

set &var1_&var2;

where var5 = &max;

run;

Proc append base = rejects new = rejects1 force;

run;

data AllIData;

set AllIData;

where var5 ne &max;

run;

%end;

%else %let stop = 0;

%end;

%Mend Loop;

%Loop (var1, var2);

The big problems I am noticing are that when I mend my macros there are no lines underneath the MEND statement.  Furthermore, when I look at the code underneath the MEND Calculate statement I am seeing color in the code, which should not be there for a MACRO.  Finally, after I run the code, I notice in the code editor: * PROC SQL RUNNING after the name of the program.  When I separate the two MACROs and run them independently, they run fine.  And help would be greatly appreciated!!!  Thanks in advance!  

4 REPLIES 4
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User