BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
abak
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello. Noob here.

I have data that looks like this:

Tech     SubTech

T1         AB11

T1         JDE1

T1         LEIO

T2         AJNC

T2         JUN1

T2         PLNL

T3         TNEVE

T3         NED0

I would like to use two loops, the outside to loop through the three technologies, and the inner one for each subtech within, to create macro variables something like this:

subs1 = "JDE1, LEI0"

subs2 = "AJNC, JUN1, PLNL"

subs3="TNEVE, NED0"

via subs&i = (correct command here)

Something like:

data _null_;

set techs;

if first.Tech = 1 then do until last.Tech = 1

subs&i = ;

<second loop over j in here>

subs&i = subs&i.||<AppropriateSubTech>; *(trying to paste together a list here like "JDE1, LEI0")

end;

end;

run;    

Two questions: 

1) How do I define the inside loop?

2) Also, I feel like the outside loop will terminate one too early if I use last.Tech = 1 because I want to include that term in the loop as well. How do I appropriately define the index for the outer loop?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

That isn't how you've shown your data. you've only shown values in a single column, not multiple variables.

select ABCD, ABCE, ABCF, DCAB, ... from table1 -> you only showed two variables, Tech and SubTech, where do variables ABCD and ABCE come from? If those are values you're not understanding what I'm trying to suggest.

And, Why for the first set are you missing the first entry?

subs1 = "JDE1, LEI0" -> where's the first one?

So you're trying to create subsets for each tech group based on the subtech groups? You can add a WHERE to the select statement, but I don't understand why you don't just join them and find the values you need.

or use an approach like this. 

proc sql;
create table tech1set as
select *
from dataset2