BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
robbane28
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm very new to SAS. I've tried reading through similar topics and it seems as though what I'm trying to do can't be done, but it seems like such an essential of programming that I'm struggling to get round it.

Is it possible to execute a macro, passing incrementing variables? This and varaints of it throw errors. I want to iteratively create a series of tables (I realise I've taken out the changing table names as I'm trying to simplfy my code to see where the errors are).

It looks like using Call Execute might work, but it seems a bit clunky...

%Let CLV_Months = 36;

Option MPRINT;

%Macro CreateChurn(ChurnRate);

Data ChurnCurve;

PC_Live = 1;

Retain PC_Live;

do i = 0 to &CLV_Months;

PC_Live = PC_Live * (1-&&ChurnRate);

Output;

End;

Rename i = Month;

Run;

%Mend CreateChurn;

Data CCM;

Do MN = 1 to 10;

M1 = MN/100;

%CreateChurn(&M1);

End;

Run;

Any assitance greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Rob

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DF
Fluorite | Level 6 DF
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Rob,

I think you've mixed up how the SAS macro processor works.

In your code you're running your macro inside a datastep.  I can understand why you'd have wanted to do this in order to run CreateChurn() with the values required.  However, SAS's macro's aren't like a function or procedure in a conventional programming language.  It's perhaps closer to the #define directive in C/C++ (although more complex) in that the macro pre-processor, which runs before your data steps are run, executes your macro code and returns the results as text which are then processed like any other code.