BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Kalai2008
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi All,

I am new to the SAS Programming. I am trying to use macro loop inside another macro loop. The outer Macro loop not looping properly, but the inner macro loop works. The outer loop supposed to work 3 times. but working only once.Not sure what the problem is.

Count is 3 dates: Only one date is working.

%macro repeat;

%do i=0 %to &count %by 1;

/*%put first=%eval(&i);*/

/*%if &i. LT &count %then %goto continue;*/

/*%else %if &i. GE &count %then %goto leave;*/

/*%continue:*/

%cc(%eval(&i+1), %eval(&i+1))

%end;

/* %leave:*/

%mend;

%Repeat

I tried this way, and it works

%cc(1,1)

%cc(2,2)

%cc(3,3)

Thanks for the help.

9 REPLIES 9
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

If your new to SAS, why are you doing macro?  Macro is an advanced topic for specific things.  Learn Base SAS which is the programming language.  We cannot tell from what you posted what is wrong, logs, full code, test data etc. all missing.  Start by formualting your question, post test data in the form of a datastep as to what you have, if you need help:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/How-to-create-a-data-step-version-of-your-dat...

Then post what you want to have out.  And forget macro code it is not needed, I can guarentee you that.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

I don't see the definition of macro cc here. There's also no place where macro variable count is set.

And there is only one macro loop.

This:

%macro cc(i1,i2);
%put "i1=&i1";
%put "i2=&i2";
%mend;

%macro repeat(count);
%do i = 0 %to &count;
  %cc(%eval(&i+1),%eval(&i+1));
%end;
%mend;

%repeat(4)

produces this log:

24         %macro cc(i1,i2);
25         %put "i1=&i1";
26         %put "i2=&i2";
27         %mend;
29         %macro repeat(count);
30         %do i = 0 %to &count;
31           %cc(%eval(&i+1),%eval(&i+1));
32         %end;
33         %mend;
35         %repeat(4)
"i1=1"
"i2=1"
"i1=2"
"i2=2"
"i1=3"
"i2=3"
"i1=4"
"i2=4"