BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
AlexAlex
Calcite | Level 5

I am a beginner with SAS, and will greatly appreciate your help with creating a loop across SAS datasets (I found in the book how to make a loop within one dataset, but no information on how to loop across multiple datasets).

Here is my problem:

• I have fifty datasets, named as data11, data12, … data60. All begin with the same letters (data) and end up with consecutive numbers starting from 11.

I need to make the following steps in the loop: 

• To open each of them consecutively; to keep just two variables (variable names are ID and VAR*, where VAR* all end with the same numbers as in the respective dataset names: VAR11, VAR12VAR60); to create one additional variable being named as d11, d12d60 (in line with the numbers in respective dataset names) and to make it being equal 1.
  • Then I need to merge them all to a dataset named data0 by the variable ID.

I have to do all that without changing any of the initial datasets, but by creating new datasets.

Could you please kindly advise me how can I do that? Thank you very much in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

untested:

%macro merge();

%do i=11 %to %60;

data xxx.datanew_&i;

set xxx.data&i;

keep ID VAR_&i;

d_&i=1;

run;

proc sort data=xxx.datanew_&i; by ID; run;

proc sort data=xxx.data0; by ID; run;

data xxx.data0_merged;

merge xxx.data0 xxx.datanew_&i; by ID; run;

%end;

%mend;

%merge;

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Reeza
Super User

Post sample data in and sample expected output.

AlexAlex
Calcite | Level 5