BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Schwa
Fluorite | Level 6

SAS noob here.

Say I have a list of variable names store in a data set NEWVARS under the single variable NEWVAR. I want to take OLDSET and cycle through these names to initialize a new variable of each name (stored as NEWSET). I'm still learning about macros, macro variables, the order that things happen during compilation, etc. Here's what I tried (that didn't work):

DATA _null_;
    SET NEWVARS;
    CALL SYMPUT ('var'||_n_, newvar);
    CALL SYMPUT ('numvars', _n_);
run;

%MACRO init(i);
    &&var&i = .;
%MEND

DATA NEWSET;
    SET OLDSET;
    do i = 1 to &numvars;
        %init(i)
    end;
run;

I've tried a few other ways to do this, but nothing's doing what I want. I could potentially generate a sting of all of the variables I'm tying to initialize; there must be a better way. Plus, I'm going to have a similar problem with the next step that I need to do. How can I do something like this?

12 REPLIES 12
art297
Opal | Level 21

Are they all character, all numeric, or a mixture of the two?

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

Schwa
Fluorite | Level 6

All of them are numeric in this case.

art297
Opal | Level 21

Actually, it doesn't matter if you just want to initialize all of the variables. e.g.:

data have;
  input (x y z) ($);
  cards;
1 2 3
4 5 6
;

data want;
  set have;
  call missing(of _all_);
run;

Reeza
Super User

Why do you need to initialize variables and what do you mean by that? 

SAS doesn't require variable initialization or declaration. I'm assuming this is the same person posting this question from SO. 

If you have the list of variables in a data set you can easily convert that into a macro variable list and use it in your array statements to initialize it, but there's really no need to do that except in a few situations. 

Schwa
Fluorite | Level 6

Yes, same person.