BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
copony
Calcite | Level 5

I posted this in the statistical procedures section by accident, but I think it is more appropriate here. I'm new to the board. I apologize for the duplicate posts.

I'm relatively new to the DATA and PROC IMPORT steps of SAS (am more statistics oriented and have not managed importing data into SAS, specifically) and I'm wondering if there is a way to import specific rows into SAS. The problem with my Excel sheets is that they contain a lot of data in rows that I don't need. Also, the first line of the Excel sheet is not a list of variable names (I didn't design these spreadsheets, obviously!).

Specifically, this is what I need to do:

Import cell B2 (this is study ID#) and then import A10, B10 and A11, B11. Then I would like B12 - Y12 (these are time variables) and then B24 - Y24 (the values that correspond to B12-Y12 variables).

Anything in an A cell is a variable, but I don't necessarily NEED it as I could figure out what variable I'm looking at later on.

There are multiple worksheets in each workbook, and I am willing to read each workbook/worksheet in by hand if necessary.

Ordinarily I would run a macro/VBA in Excel to get this info but our security policies are such that we aren't allowed to run macros in Excel or Access!

All suggestions appreciated!

23 REPLIES 23
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Assuming each part of your data has a uniform data type (character or numeric), you can read all the parts (ranges) in separate datasets with the LIBNAME Engine :

libname xl Excel "&sasforum\datasets\copony.xlsx" header=no access=readonly;

proc sql;

create table id as select F1 as ID from xl.'Sheet1$B2:B2'n;

create table A10B10 as select F1 as A10, F2 as B10 from xl.'Sheet1$A10:B10'n;

create table A11B11 as select F1 as A11, F2 as B11 from xl.'Sheet1$A11:B11'n;

create table B12Y12 as select * from xl.'Sheet1$B12:Y12'n;

create table B24Y24 as select * from xl.'Sheet1$B24:Y24'n;

quit;

libname xl clear;